Skip to main content
Heimburger Award 2018)

Professor Heimburger Award

Celebrating Science

Professor Dr. Norbert Heimburger, a CSL Behring employee for over three decades, was a pioneer of modern coagulation therapy. Among his many achievements, Prof. Dr. Heimburger developed virus-safe plasma products based on pasteurization, including launching the first effectively virus-inactivated FVIII concentrate in 1981.

In his honor, CSL Behring created the Heimburger Award to recognize the clinical and/or preclinical research of emerging coagulation specialists who are driven to improve the care of patients with bleeding disorders. Read our newsletter.

Global Research Grant

CSL Behring is committed to supporting progress in the area of coagulation in the long run. Based on recent publications and feedback from the medical community, allowing the next generation of coagulation specialists to medically and scientifically establish themselves, it is important to ensure continued progress in this therapeutic area.

Heimburger AwardGrant Details and Eligibility

CSL Behring will set five global start-up grants of €25,000 each.

The grants are reserved for researchers who hold a medical degree or a PhD. Applicants with less than five years of faculty experience in hemostasis will be preferred.

No matching funding is a prerequisite for this grant. The grants will be available for clinical and/or preclinical research in the area of coagulation.


Application and Procedure


For inquiries regarding application, policy and procedures information, please contact us. Applications for the 2023 cycle will open from July 4, 2022; applications consisting of an application form, short CV and one-page research proposal must be received by November 7, 2022 in order to be considered.

Att.Heimburger Awards Facilitator

Applications should be submitted in English to the address above.

Previous Winners